Back To Top surfer image

Morgane Dornic, Edoardo Stochino Win Traversée Internationale du Lac St-Jean – UltraMarathon Swim Series

Morgane Dornic of France won her second Traversée Internationale du Lac St-Jean of her career on the WOWSA UltraMarathon, held on Saturday in Roberval, Quebec, Canada.

The 23-year-old from France was fast. She came within striking distance of finishing among her male counterparts on the podium, less than 1 minute behind third-place Aleksandar Ilievski of Northern Macedonia. Four other women competed in the famed lake course: Pilar Geijo (2nd), Rita Vanesa Garcia (3rd), Daira Eluney Marin (4th), and Émilie Tremblay (OTL).

On the men’s side, veteran professional marathon swimmer Edoardo Stochino won his fourth career gold medal, finishing comfortably ahead of the field in 6 hours 55 minutes. The 34-year-old from Italy had last won a gold on the same Traversée Internationale du Lac St-Jean course in 2018 in 7 hours 10 minutes. He finished 2nd in both 2013 and 2016.

For the first time in its 68-year history, the 32 km Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean was part of the WOWSA UltraMarathon Swim Series. The Traversée was the fourth stop on the inaugural 2022 UltraMarathon Swim Series:

  1. 36 km Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli from Capri to Napoli, Tyrrhenian Sea, Italy
  2. 14.5 km Authentic Marathon Swim in Pefki Evia, Straits of Artemision, Greece
  3. 15.5 km Trans Tahoe Solo in Lake Tahoe, California, USA
  4. 32 km Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean in lac St-Jean, Québec, Canada
  5. 10 km, 20 km, 30 km La Isla Open Water in Zimapán DamQuerétaro, Mexico

Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean Overall Results:

  1. Edoardo Stochino (Italy) 6 hours 55 minutes 4 seconds
  2. Franco Ivo Cassini (Argentina) 7 hours 12 minutes 40 seconds
  3. Aleksandar Ilievski (Macedonia) 7 hours 18 minutes 48 seconds
  4. Morgane Dornic (France) 7 hours 19 minutes 8 seconds (first female, shown above)
  5. Pilar Geijo (Argentina) 7 hours 36 minutes 51 seconds (second female shown above)
  6. Evgenij Pop Acev (Macedonia) 7 hours 53 minutes 15 seconds
  7. Rita Vanesa Garcia (Argentina) 8 hours 30 minutes 34 seconds (third female, shown above)
  8. Boviez Santiago Facundo (Argentina) 8 hours 49 minutes 17 seconds
  9. Daira Eluney Marin (Argentina) 8 hours 49 minutes 30 seconds (fourth female)
  10. Émilie Tremblay (Canada) 10 hours 42 minutes 21 seconds (OTL, fifth female)

Ultramarathon Swim Series

Dedicated to the preservation of the world’s most revered marathon races in a global swim series.

50 Water Street, San Francisco, CA 94704
Follow Us: